Oh deer, oh deer.

It has been long suggested by family, friends, and every illustration help site out there that I start up a blog documenting my artwork and all the other stuff involved in making it. So here I am.

I don’t ordinarily have a whole lot to say so this could turn out to be dreadfully dull, but it’s worth a shot. I might get the hang of it, but If it doesn’t work out, I can always rededicate this blog to ridiculous A Song of Ice and Fire theories (have you heard the one about Roose Bolton being an Other? I can dig it.) It isn’t like there’s hundreds of those out there, am I right?

Anyway, if you’d like to get a grasp on who I am and what I do, please refer to the “about” and “porfolio” links on the menu above. This is what I’ve been working on over the past few days:

shelldeertransparentsmall

9″ x 12″
gouache on watercolor paper

My cousin will be getting married this coming November and asked me to create something to incorporate into her invitations. She’s going for a rustic sort of feel with lots and lots of sunflowers in her decorations. She was fond of a deer that I painted early last year and requested something that included just two things: a deer and sunflowers.

I personally really like compositions that use an oval or circular composition. I’m not sure why. They just always look nice to me. I thought something like that would look nice and work well topping an invitation. So I did some thumbnail sketches for her (which i have unfortunately misplaced), allowed her to choose and tell me what she wanted added or changed, and wound up with this:

michelledeer

I knew that I wanted to make sure this was bright and colorful so the details would be bold enough no matter how small she needed to make it for the invitation. All she requested was that the background behind the deer be gold.

For the sake of this blog, I also documented my progress (or tried to):

p1  p2p3 p4

I didn’t really have a whole lot of trouble with this piece. The sunflowers took awhile, about 4 hours in all, but everything else went pretty smoothly. My cousin loves it and says it fits what she imagined perfectly, so that’s good. A success!

Leave a Reply

