It’s the most wonderful time of the year…almost. Bit early.

From one season to another, all in the span of a couple weeks! These past few weeks have been spent finishing up some projects and preparing for my upcoming art shows, which includes brand new Christmas card designs. My goal is to have three designs ready for my November shows, but we’ll see what happens. Time may get away from me yet. Here is the year’s first one, featuring a very naughty rabbit stealing from a poor, innocent snowman:

snowmanrabbitsmall

These are available in my etsy shop now, which has also been restocked with two of last year’s card designs.

Am I the only one who wishes top hats were still socially acceptable to wear on regular outings, by the way? I love them very much. I would like to have a very large collection of them.

Something else I’ve been working on recently is trying to get a bit more comfortable with working digitally. I’ve worked with photoshop for years and years and understand how the program works, but doing any extensive digital artwork has always been frustrating and unenjoyable for me. I prefer to work traditionally and use photoshop to tweak my work if need be, but I decided to take some time to try out a few new things. Like a little repeating pattern:

bun repeat

This was more of a test than anything, but I’m pretty pleased with how seamless it turned out! I may try another pattern out with traditionally painted components later on. Until then, it was nice to figure out how to do something like this.

Finally, as a bit of a personal project, I also did a little typography piece, inked traditionally and adjusted and bedecked digitally:

starssmall

This is a quote from an English translation of Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables. It’s one of my favorite quotes spoken by one of my favorite characters, Grantaire. Given what a poetic and beautiful quote it is, I was surprised that I couldn’t find a typography illustration of it already. It doesn’t look perfect but it was a fun, different project to work with an I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

