Snow or shine

I’m still here! The holidays were especially tiring this year and I basically had to skip December art-wise. I don’t think I managed to finish a single thing between family stuff and stomach sickness, but I’m finally back with some new art.

First up are a few commissions:

The first is a pet portrait and the second was commissioned as a wedding gift for a couple who got married on a Disney cruise. I would have liked for their names to stand out a little better, but I couldn’t get them white enough no matter how many layers I used. They liked it well enough in the end, though.

Last but not least is this little fellow:

postmansmall

I painted this poor little postman in an earlier piece, but I’ve given him a proper uniform now rather than just a hat. I’ve had a few comments concerning his lack of pants. I don’t know where these people have been, but it is socially acceptable for rabbits to not wear pants.

Pants or no pants, you may be seeing this little guy in future projects. I’d like to do a story based around him if I can ever get myself to just start writing. My Christmas gifts included the books “The Encyclopedia of Writing and Illustrating Children’s Books” and “Writing With Pictures“. Both have been very helpful in getting me started, especially the latter. I recommend them to anyone who wants to get into writing/illustrating but doesn’t know where to start.

I’m not sure what I’m working on next, but I’ve resolved myself to paint more backgrounds this year. We’ll see how that works out.

Leave a Reply

