Stars

I think they need to rename the so called “sunshine” state. It’s been nothing but gloomy and rainy here for a month. It makes it hard to find the motivation to do anything, but I did manage to churn out one last painting in January:

starrabbitssmall

That’s the Lepus, or hare constellation in the middle–of course. Truth be told, this entire piece was really just an excuse to use silver leafing on something–but I couldn’t track any down in stores, so I had to settle for this silver leafing pen. It worked surprisingly well, and didn’t scan too badly either. It’s more metallic and brighter and shinier than just a silver sharpie, so I would recommend it if you’re looking to do some quick and easy leafing-looking stuff without the glue mess. I’ll definitely be looking for ways to use it again, as it adds a nice special touch to the original piece.

I hope you all had a good first month of 2016. Personally, I’m hoping for some big art-related happenings this year! I have a few shows already lined up, so I need to get busy on filling out my print inventory again. Prints of this new piece, as well as my previous piece with the postman rabbit, can be found at my Etsy shop.

Here’s to an equally productive February!

Leave a Reply

