Breezy

Yet again, it’s been quite awhile, hasn’t it? I have plenty to share, though.

Lately, I’ve sold quite a few of my original gouache paintings which is wonderful and greatly appreciated, but it’s leaving the walls of my booth at my more recent shows looking rather bare. I’ve been working hard to try to create more before show season really picks up in autumn–and also working on a few other projects.

First up is this collection of woodland things:
woodlandsmall

It features acorns, a bee, woodland forget-me-nots, wild strawberries, a mushroom, and a European wood mouse; all things you can find in the woods somewhere in the world. I was inspired by those pieces the talented Oana Befort does with all the different spring flora on one sheet. They’re beautiful and I love them very much, so I thought I’d try out something similar in my own way.

I was also commissioned to do a few pet portraits:

Not much to say about these. I’m always honored to paint peoples’ pets, though.

A little something for a poster contest for an art and musical festival here in Florida:
guitarsmall

I can’t share much about this right now, but it’s definitely the largest thing I’ve painted on paper. It measures 16 x 24 when I normally work no larger than 9 x 12. It was a bit of a challenge, but it turned out almost exactly as I intended and I’m really pleased with it. Fun fact: the guitar is roughly based on one of James Taylor’s famous Olson guitars. The one in this photo, to be specific. Why? I don’t know. I always liked that guitar, and I like slipping references to things I like into my art without taking away from the actual piece.

Last up is my most recent, another illustration of my postman rabbit:
postmanbikesmall

I’m so unbelievably pleased with this one. The entire time I was working on it, I was afraid it would turn out terribly because I wasn’t actually sure where I was going with it. In the end, I hardly had to do any color correction in photoshop and there was no digital adjusting or fading out of the background, which is kind of a big deal for me. I’ve been working in gouache for two years now, but I painted in acrylics and nothing else for many years. There are some things you can do in acrylics that you can’t do in gouache and if I had my choice, I would paint my characters in gouache and all backgrounds would be done in acrylics. I think I made a pretty big step forward with this one, though. Not to mention that I love this little character and have big things planned for him.

2 thoughts on “Breezy

Leave a Reply

